Home » About ITS » History


The Beginning of ITS

In early 1970s when the number of Korean immigrants increased in Los Angeles area, some Korean church leaders in the area commonly felt an immediate need to establish schools to train men and women for the rapidly sprouting Korean churches among the immigrants. Dr. John Eui-Whan Kim, a church historian, seminary professor, and pastor of a fast-growing church, was one of those church leaders. Unlike his peers, however, who went on their ways to open schools to provide theological education for Korean-immigrants only in their mother tongue, John Kim, having been inspired by the dream of world mission, decided to establish a seminary for international students from Third World countries. His intense desire to launch such a unique theological seminary was motivated by the conviction that trained national church leaders would be far more effective in many tasks to which foreign missionaries were normally assigned, such as evangelism, church growth, church planting, and others. After sharing his vision with the elders of his church and ensuring support from some of them, his dream was effectuated in the founding International Theological Seminary in 1982 as a venture of faith. From the beginning of the seminary up to now, the core philosophy of the seminary, which is the training of church leaders from Third World countries, remains unchanged.

The Presidents

Dr. John E. Kim, 1982 – 1984.

Dr. John H. Kromminga, 1984 – 1990

Dr. John E Kim, 1990 – 1995

Dr. Joseph Tong, 1995 – 2008.

Dr. See Nam Kim, 2008 – 2009.

Elder Calvin Lee (Interim President), January 2010 – May 2010.

Dr. Melvin Loucks, June 2010 – 2013.

Dr. James Lee, present


Copyright. International Theological Seminary All Rights Reserved.